Denise Alvarado's Mystic Voodoo by KAREN MIRANDA AUGUSTINE

04/09/2013 20:09

Words cannot express how fascinated I have been with Voodoo doll artist Denise Alvarado over the past few years. As an artist who works with ritual, dare I say it's been quite unbelievable how many times I have come across one of her sites while doing research for an art piece. Beyond her vast amount of research and strength in the way she harnesses and markets her work on the Net, I have found her dolls to be some of the most intricate and beautiful creations, which are a wonderful reflection of the artist herself.

As Ms. Alvarado prepares the final stages of her PhD, I fondly share with you this interview conducted with her during the summer this year, while sending her support, love and respect across the Net. Due to prior commitments, we were unable to get into the history of Voodoo dolls, which was a topic I wanted discussed in this interview. For more information on their history, please visit her Mystic Voodoo Web site. It's an honour, and beyond my deepest pleasure, to introduce this intriguing artist to you....

Read the whole article at karen Miranda Augustine's site Posession: All That is Sacred in Contemporary Art.